Bolton Democrats

2015 Bolton Democrat of the Year

Honorees Barry Stearns and Robert Lessard listen as BDTC chair John Toomey reads a proclamation.

Congratulations to selectman Robert Lessard and Board of Finance member Barry Stearns, the 2015 Bolton Democrats of the Year.

Rep. Joe Courtney speaks at the annual Democrat of the Year banquet, Bolton, CT, September 21, 2015.

Both men were honored at a ceremony Sunday attended by local Democrats (and several Republicans), including Selectmen Sandra Pierog and Gwen Marrion (and Republican Selectman Robert Neil), Board of Education member Christopher Davey, Planning and Zoning member Adam Teller, and candidates Richard Tuthill (BOS), Jason Norris (Board of Finance), and Mary Terhune (P&Z).

They were joined by U.S. Representative Joe Courtney, Connecticut Attorney General George Jepsen, former Connecticut Secretary of State Susan Bysiewicz, State Senator Steve Cassano, and Connecticut Democratic Party chair Nick Balletto.

BDTC chair John Toomey presented Bob and Barry with proclamations from various state officials and from Senators Chris Murphy and Richard Blumenthal. Bob and Barry were honored for their many years of service to the Bolton community. Both men are retiring from public office at the end of this year.

State Senator Steve Cassano congratulates Barry Stearns.

State Senator Steve Cassano congratulates Robert Lessard.

Rep. Courtney, AG Jepsen, and state party chair Balletto join past and current recipients of the BDTC’s Democrat of the Year award. (From L to R: Dominic Balletto Jr., Robert Lessard, Barry Stearns, Karen Bergin, Pat Morianos, George Jepsen, Joe Courtney, Steve Cassano, John Toomey)